Message from the Chairman of Rosneft’s Board of Directors

Gerhard Schroeder

Gerhard Schroeder

Chairman of the Board of Directors

As the Chairman of the Board of Directors, I place a significant emphasis on the Company’s strategic priorities and their achievement. In 2017, we approved Rosneft’s business strategy for the next five years – it is one of the most ambitious in the industry and fully meets the challenges currently faced by oil and gas corporations. This carefully elaborated plan provides a robust strategic basis for the Company’s breakthrough development and takes into account the production capabilities of all its business segments. The strategy details organic growth in liquid hydrocarbons production to 250 mmtoe by 2022, and includes Rosneft’s plans for its gas business to become one of the Top 3 global gas companies within the next few years. This is also an increase in the share of products with high added value, such as petrochemical products. Another focus area is transformation of the Company into one of the technological leaders through digitalization. The strategy covers investments, including such areas as refinery modernization, energy efficiency, emission reduction which allow Rosneft to increase the profitability of refining and petroleum products sales of own production.

As a former Chancellor of Germany, I am particularly interested in bolstering Rosneft’s partnerships with European companies and I'm convinced that the Company’s recent steps have been crucial in building productive and effective business relations with its European partners. Rosneft’s integrated approach to major oil and gas projects plays a key role in its overall efficiency, attracting consuming countries interested in guaranteed feedstock volumes, and the production, transportation, and delivery of those volumes to the end consumer. Rosneft maintained its focus on diversifying feedstock supplies between western and eastern destinations throughout 2017, resulting in a 10.7% rise to 47.7 mmt in shipments on the eastern route, while distribution via the high-margin Rosneft retail channel increased by 7% during 2017.

Based on the drilling results from the first offshore appraisal well in the Laptev Sea, a new field was discovered in 2017 with oil reserves exceeding 80 mmt, while a unique start-up complex was commissioned at the Erginsky cluster containing a total of 256 mmt in oil reserves.

Having monitored the activities of Rosneft’s management throughout the year, as a Chairman of the Board of Directors, I value their efforts highly. Rosneft’s portfolio was expanded throughout 2017 with several strategic, high-potential asset acquisitions that have already increased in value alongside the current trend in oil prices. The Company expanded its international refining business through swapping shares in German refineries and acquiring a share in India’s Vadinar refinery, both of which have already generated substantial synergies.

Rosneft is the world’s largest public oil and gas company both in terms of production volume and reserves. Rosneft continues its journey ahead, expanding upon production following an increase from 4 mmtoe 18 years ago to 281.7 mtoe in the reporting year, developing its refining, petrochemicals, and retail businesses, and transforming into an experienced international trader.

In Germany, Russia, and other countries, people often ask me why I accepted the offer to take up an executive position in the Company. In my opinion, Rosneft strives to make the best use of the resources of the global industry, as well as its geographic and technological potential through international cooperation. The Company has dozens of joint ventures across Europe and Asia and invests millions of dollars in their operation, while about 40% of Rosneft shares are owned by foreign shareholders.

Energy security issues are of great concern to us, and their resolution primarily depends on mutual cooperation through openness and common interests. Distrust and political differences can be overcome through closer cooperation. We need to move in this direction starting today.

Обращение Председателя Совета Директоров ПАО «НК «Роснефть»

Герхард Шрёдер

Герхард Шрёдер

Председатель Совета директоров

Как Председатель Совета директоров я придаю большое значение стратегическим приоритетам Компании и их выполнению. В 2017 году мы утвердили Стратегию бизнеса «Роснефть – 2022» на ближайшие пять лет – одну из самых амбициозных стратегий в отрасли, полностью отвечающую тем вызовам, которые стоят перед нефтегазовыми корпорациями на текущем этапе. Этот детально проработанный документ является мощной стратегической базой, позволяющей осуществить прорыв в развитии Компании, и учитывает производственные возможности всех бизнес-сегментов. Это и органический рост добычи ЖУВ до 250 млн т н. э. к 2022 году, и планы в газовом бизнесе – «Роснефть» планирует войти в тройку мировых лидеров в этой области уже в ближайшие годы. Это и рост доли продукции с высокой добавленной стоимостью, такой как продукция нефтегазохимии. Это и превращение Компании в одного из технологических лидеров за счет цифровизации производства. Стратегия Компании подразумевает инвестиции, в том числе в таких областях, как модернизация НПЗ, энергоэффективность, сокращение выбросов, что позволит «Роснефти» увеличить доходность переработки и реализации нефтепродуктов собственного производства.

Меня как бывшего федерального канцлера Германии глубоко интересует развитие сотрудничества «Роснефти» с европейскими партнерами. Считаю, что за последнее время Компания сделала важнейшие шаги для выстраивания плодотворных и эффективных экономических связей с ними. Особую роль в достижении общей эффективности играет интегральный подход, которого придерживается «Роснефть». Благодаря этому подходу страны-импортеры заинтересованы в получении гарантированных объемов сырья, в добыче этих объемов, их транспортировке и доставке конечному потребителю. В 2017 году «Роснефть» продолжила курс на диверсификацию поставок сырья между западным и восточным направлениями: отгрузки в восточном направлении выросли на 10,7 % – до 47,7 млн т. Реализация через высокомаржинальный розничный канал за 2017 год выросла на 7 %.

В 2017 году на шельфе моря Лаптевых по результатам первой поисковой скважины открыто новое месторождение с запасами более 80 млн т нефти, введен в эксплуатацию уникальный пусковой комплекс Эргинского кластера месторождений с суммарными запасами 256 млн т.

Я высоко ценю деятельность менеджмента Компании «Роснефть», за которой я наблюдаю, занимая пост Председателя Совета директоров. В 2017 году «Роснефть» сделала ряд стратегических приобретений, добавив в свой портфель перспективные активы, стоимость которых уже начала расти на фоне наметившегося восстановления цен на нефть. Расширение международного бизнеса в нефтепереработке (обмен долями в НПЗ в Германии, приобретение доли в НПЗ Вадинар в Индии) уже сейчас обеспечивает значительный синергетический эффект.

«Роснефть» – крупнейшая в мире публичная нефтегазовая компания как по уровню добычи, так и по запасам. Компания продолжает двигаться вперед, ежегодно наращивая свою добычу (с 4 млн т н. э. 18 лет назад до 281,7 млн т н. э. в текущем году), а также развивая нефтепереработку, нефтехимию, розничный бизнес и превращаясь в опытного международного трейдера.

В Германии, России и других странах меня часто спрашивают, почему я принял предложение занять руководящую должность в Компании. На мой взгляд, «Роснефть» стремится наилучшим образом использовать ресурсы мировой отрасли, географический и технологический потенциал, выстраивая взаимовыгодное международное сотрудничество. Компания имеет десятки совместных предприятий в Европе и Азии, инвестирует в эти предприятия миллиарды долларов, более 40 % акций «Роснефти» принадлежат иностранным акционерам.

Для нас важны вопросы энергетической безопасности, а их решение, в первую очередь, зависит от сотрудничества, основанного на принципах открытости и общности интересов. Мы могли бы преодолеть недоверие, наладив более тесные связи. Нам нужно двигаться в этом направлении начиная с сегодняшнего дня.