Macroeconomic Situation in 2017

The Company’s operating performance in 2017 was significantly impacted by the following key macroeconomic factors:

Global and national economic growth rates

Global oil prices

RUB exchange rate and inflation rates in Russia

Global and National Economic Growth Rates

According to January 2018 estimates from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), global economic growth in 2017 (PPPPurchasing power parity. GDP in constant 2010 prices) accelerated to 3.7% year-on-year Year-on-year. (3.2% year-on-year in 2016). GDP growth rates in developed economies increased from 1.7% in 2016 to 2.3% in 2017 while growing in emerging markets from 4.4% in 2016 to 4.7% in 2017.

Among developed economies, the most notable economic growth occurred in the USA, Canada, Japan, and the Eurozone. In 2017, GDP growth rate in the USA was 2.3% (1.5% in 2016), 3.0% in Canada (1.4% in 2016), and 1.6% in Japan (0.9% in 2016).

In 2017, GDP growth rate in the Eurozone was 2.4% (up 1.8% in 2016). Germany and France remain leaders in economic growth within the Eurozone, their GDP growth rates reaching 2.2% and 1.8% in 2017 from 1.9% and 1.2% in 2016, respectively.

GDP growth rates slowed down in both the UK (from 1.9% in 2016 to 1.8%According to the British Office for National Statistics. in 2017) and Mexico (from 2.9% in 2016 to 2.2% in 2017).

GDP Growth Rates (PPP GDP in constant 2010 prices) in Developed Economies Sources: International Monetary Fund, national statistical services, Russia’s Federal State Statistics Service (Rosstat).

The IMF forecasts the global GDP growth rate to accelerate to 3.9% in 2018 and 2019 (World Economic Outlook as at 22 January 2018).

In 2017, GDP growth rate in China increased by 0.1 percentage points to 6.8% (6.7% in 2016), while a significant slowdown in GDP growth rates was observed in India (from 7.1% in 2016 to 6.7% in 2017), as well as in the Middle East and in North Africa (from 4.9% in 2016 to 2.5% in 2017).

According to IMF estimates, the growth in international trade in goods and services accelerated from 2.5% in 2016 to 4.7% in 2017. Global trade in goods and services grew mainly due to increasing prices in metals (up 24.2% year-on-year) and energy (up 23.6% year-on-year), and the declining real effective exchange rate of USD to the currencies of main trade partners (down 0.5% year-on-year).

After two years of crisis, the Russian economy returned to growth in Q4 2016. In 2017, the GDP growth in Russia was largely supported by the improved macroeconomic environment of growing energy prices and increased price competitiveness of domestic producers due to RUB depreciation during 2014–2015.

According to an initial assessment from Rosstat, in 2017, the Russian GDP accelerated by 1.5% (down 0.2% in 2016). With a combined 58.3%, the following three sectors were the largest contributors to the GDP growth: retail and wholesale trade, vehicle and motorcycle repairs (contributed approximately 28%; 3.1% growth year-on-year), transportation and storage (contributed approximately 16%; 3.7% growth year-on-year), and real estate transactions (contributed approximately 14%; 2.2% growth year-on-year). In fourth place was the mining sector with a contribution of 8.4% to the GDP growth (1.4% growth year-on-year). In 2017, the most significant change in the GDP structure was the growing share of the mining sector, which grew by 0.8 percentage points to 10.3%.

Economy growth rates in developed economies are projected at 2.3% in 2018 and 2.2% in 2019, while the GDP growth rates in emerging markets are expected to be higher, 4.9% and 5.0%, respectively.

Global trade growth is expected to slow down to 4.6% year-on-year in 2018 and to 4.4% year-on-year in 2019.

The IMF forecasts the Russian economy to grow at 1.7% in 2018 and 1.5% in 2019. The Bank of Russia forecasts the Russian GDP growth rate at 1.5%–2.0% in 2018, with a slight deceleration to 1%–1.5% in 2019. The Ministry of Economic Development of the Russian Federation forecasts (as at 27 October 2017, baseline scenario) the Russian GDP growth rate at 2.1% in 2018, while in 2019 and 2020, there will be a slight acceleration of the Russian GDP growth to 2.2% and 2.3%, respectively.

GDP Growth Rates (PPP GDP in constant 2010 prices) in Emerging Markets Sources: International Monetary Fund, national statistical services, Russia’s Federal State Statistics Service (Rosstat)

Макроэкономическая ситуация в 2017 году

На результаты операционной деятельности Компании в 2017 году значительное влияние оказали следующие основные макроэкономические факторы:

темпы роста мировой экономики и экономики России

мировые цены на нефть

обменный курс рубля и инфляция в России

Темпы роста мировой экономики и экономики России

По оценке Международного валютного фонда (МВФ) от января 2018 года, темпы роста мировой экономики в 2017 году (здесь и далее ВВП по  ППСПаритет покупательной способности. в постоянных ценах 2010 года) ускорились до 3,7 % г/гГод к году. (3,2 % г/г – в 2016 году). Темпы роста ВВП развитых стран повысились с 1,7 % в 2016 году до 2,3 % в 2017 году, развивающихся – с 4,4 % в 2016 году до 4,7 % в 2017 году.

Наиболее значительный среди развитых стран экономический рост был зафиксирован в США, Канаде, Японии, а также в зоне евро. Темпы роста ВВП США в 2017 году составили 2,3 % (1,5 % в 2016 году), Канады – 3,0 % (1,4 % в 2016 году), Японии – 1,6 % (0,9 % в 2016 году).

Темпы роста ВВП зоны евро в 2017 году составили 2,4 % (+1,8 % в 2016 году). Лидерами экономического роста в еврозоне остаются Германия и Франция, темпы роста ВВП которых повысились с 1,9 и 1,2 % в 2016 году до 2,2 и 1,8 % в 2017 году соответственно.

Замедление темпов роста ВВП произошло в Великобритании (с 1,9 % в 2016 году до 1,8 %По данным Национального бюро статистики Великобритании. в 2017 году) и Мексике (с 2,9 % в 2016 году до 2,2 % в 2017 году).

Темпы роста ВВП (по ППС в постоянных ценах 2010 года) развитых стран, 2016–2019 годы Источники: Международный валютный фонд, национальные статистистические службы, Росстат

По прогнозу МВФ (бюллетень «Перспективы мировой экономики» от 22 января 2018 года), темпы роста мирового ВВП в краткосрочной перспективе ускорятся до 3,9 % в 2018 и 2019 годах.

Темпы роста ВВП Китая в 2017 году увеличились на 0,1 п. п. – до 6,8 % (в 2016 году – 6,7 %). Существенное замедление экономической динамики в 2017 году произошло в Индии (с 7,1 % в 2016 году до 6,7 % в 2017 году) и в странах Ближнего Востока и Северной Африки (с 4,9 % в 2016 году до 2,5 % в 2017 году).

Рост объема международной торговли товарами и услугами, по оценке МВФ, ускорился с 2,5 % в 2016 году до 4,7 % в 2017 году. Увеличение стоимостных объемов международной торговли произошло в основном за счет повышения цен на металлы (+24,2 % г/г) и топливно-энергетические товары (+23,6 % г/г), а также за счет и снижения реального эффективного валютного курса доллара США к валютам стран – основных торговых партнеров (–0,5 % г/г).

Экономика России после двух лет кризиса в 4-м квартале 2016 года вступила в фазу экономического роста. В 2017 году росту ВВП России во многом способствовала международная конъюнктура, связанная с ростом цен на энергоносители, а также ценовая конкурентоспособность, обусловленная девальвацией рубля в период 2014–2015 годов.

По данным Росстата (первая оценка), объем ВВП России в 2017 году увеличился на 1,5 % (–0,2 % в 2016 году). Наибольший вклад (58,3 %) в прирост ВВП обеспечили следующие три вида деятельности (ВД): торговля оптовая и розничная, ремонт автотранспортных средств и мотоциклов (вклад – около 28 %; рост на 3,1 % г/г); транспортировка и хранение (вклад – около 16 %; рост на 3,7 % г/г); деятельность по операциям с недвижимым имуществом (вклад – около 14 %; рост на 2,2 % г/г). Вклад ВД «Добыча полезных ископаемых» в прирост ВВП составил 8,4 % (четвертое место по значимости, рост на 1,4 % г/г). Наиболее значимым изменением в стоимостной структуре ВВП в 2017 году стал рост доли ВД «Добыча полезных ископаемых» на 0,8 п. п. – до 10,3 %.

Темпы роста экономики развитых стран составят 2,3 % в 2018 году и 2,2 % в 2019 году, ВВП развивающихся стран будет расти более высокими темпами – 4,9 % в 2018 году и 5,0 % в 2019 году.

Темпы роста объема мировой торговли несколько замедлятся: до 4,6 % г/г в 2018 году и 4,4 % г/г в 2019 году.

Темпы роста экономики России, по прогнозу МВФ, составят 1,7 % в 2018 году и 1,5 % в 2019 году. По прогнозу Центрального банка Российской Федерации (Банка России), в 2018 году темпы роста ВВП России составят 1,5–2,0 %; в 2019 году произойдет небольшое замедление динамики ВВП – до 1,0–1,5 %. По прогнозу Министерства экономического развития Российской Федерации (от 27 октября 2017 года, базовый сценарий), в 2018 году темпы роста ВВП России составят 2,1 %, в 2019–2020 годах произойдет небольшое ускорение динамики ВВП России – до 2,2 и 2,3 % соответственно.

Темпы роста ВВП (по ППС в постоянных ценах 2010 года) развивающихся стран, 2016–2019 годы Источники: Международный валютный фонд, национальные статистистические службы, Росстат