Energy Prices, Foreign Exchange Rates, and Inflation in Russia

Annual Average Brent and Urals Prices, USD per barrel Source: Platts.

The observed oil surplus in 2014–2016 gave way to shortages in 2017 caused by the growing demand for oil and the deal to curb oil output, reached by OPEC and 11 non-members. According to the International Energy Agency (IEA), shortage in the oil market totaled 0.4 mmb per day in 2017. Since June 2017, oil prices have been showing a slight upward trend.

As a result of the oil shortage, the annual average Brent price in 2017, as according to Platts, was up 24.3% to USD 54.3 per barrel, compared with USD 43.7 per barrel in 2016. In 2017, the annual average Urals price increased by USD 11 per barrel compared with the 2016 price of USD 53.1 per barrel, a 26.1% rise year-on-year.

An improving global commodity market environment and growing Russian exports drove an increase in Russia’s export income. According to the Bank of Russia’s data, Russian exports (according to the Balance of Payments methodology) grew by 25.2% year-on-year in 2017, from USD 281.8 bln to USD 353.0 bln. Crude oil exports were up 26.6% to USD 93.3 bln; petroleum product exports were up 26.3% to USD 58.2 bln; natural gas exports up 22.0% to USD 38.0 bln; and LNG exports up 9.5% to USD 3.2 bln. Crude hydrocarbons and petroleum products accounted for 54.6% of total exports in 2017.

Russian Exports, USD bln Source: Central Bank of the Russian Federation.

An increase in export income had a positive effect on the ruble exchange rate despite ongoing financial sanctions. According to the Bank of Russia, the annual average nominal USD/RUB rate was down from RUB 67.03 per USD in 2016 to RUB 58.35 per USD in 2017, thus the ruble appreciated against the US dollar by an average of 14.7% year-on-year.

Changes in Annual Average Nominal Exchange Rates of Oil-Exporting Countries’ National Currencies to USD in 2017, % y-o-y “+” indicates appreciation of a national currency against USD; “–” indicates depreciation of a national currency against USD. Sources: International Monetary Fund, World Bank, the Central Bank Bank of the Russian Federation.

The nominal USD/RUB rate was down from RUB 60.66 per USD as at year-end 2016 to RUB 57.60 per USD as at year-end 2017. The ruble appreciated by 5.3% year-on-year.

Changes in Nominal Exchange Rates of Oil Exporting Countries’ National Currencies to USD in 2017, % y-o-y at year-end “+” indicates appreciation of a national currency against USD; “–” indicates depreciation of a national currency against USD. Sources: International Monetary Fund, World Bank, the Central Bank of the Russian Federation.

Inflation in 2017 (year-on-year as at December 2017) was 2.5% (5.4% in 2016), 1.5 percentage points below the 2017 target of 4.0% set in the Monetary Policy Guidelines for 2017–2019 published by the Central Bank of the Russian Federation. In 2017, the annual average consumer price index was 3.7% (7.1% in 2016). The inflation slowdown in 2017 was supported by the policy of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation, as well as by the growing nominal exchange rate of the Russian ruble to the currencies of Russia’s key trade partners, and an increase in agricultural production. According to the Bank of Russia’s forecast as at 22 November 2017, inflation in 2018–2020 will be at 4.0%.

Average Nominal USD/RUB Rate, RUB per USD Source: Central Bank of the Russian Federation.
Inflation in Russia, % y-o-y as at December Source: Rosstat.

In 2017, producer prices were up 8.4% (year-on-year as at December 2017) (7.5% in 2016). In 2017, the annual average producer price index was 7.6% (4.3% in 2016). According to the Ministry of Economic Development forecast as at 27 October 2017, the producer price index will be 2.5% in 2018 (year-on-year as at December 2018).

In 2017, oil companies’ transportation costs in Russia grew following an increase in tariffs. As of 1 January 2017, PJSC Transneft’s rates for oil transportation via trunk pipelines increased by 3.5%, and 4.0% indexation was applied to export tariffs for the Eastern Siberia – Pacific Ocean pipeline to China and the Kozmino oil loading port.

As of 1 February 2017, transit tariffs for oil transportation via the Republic of Belarus increased by 7.7%.

As of 1 January 2017, railroad transportation tariffs increased by 4%, and an additional 2% indexation was applied in January 2017 to the December 2016 tariff.

Цены на энергоносители, обменный курс и инфляция в России

Среднегодовая цена на нефть Brent и Urals, долл/барр Источник: Platts

В 2017 году профицит предложения нефти, наблюдавшийся в 2014–2016 годах, сменился дефицитом благодаря Соглашению об ограничении добычи нефти странами ОПЕК и присоединившимися к ним 11 странами, не входящими в состав ОПЕК, а также благодаря росту спроса на нефть. По данным Международного энергетического агентства (МЭА), дефицит на рынке нефти в 2017 году составил 0,4 млн барр/сут. С июня 2017 года установился растущий тренд цены нефти.

В результате среднегодовая цена нефти Brent в 2017 году повысилась, по данным Platts, на 24,1 % г/г – до 54,3 долл/барр (43,7 долл/барр в 2016 году). Среднегодовая цена Urals в 2017 году повысилась относительно 2016 года на 10,0 долл/барр (+26,2 % г/г) и составила 53,1 долл/барр.

Улучшение конъюнктуры на мировых товарных рынках и рост российского экспорта привели к повышению экспортных доходов России. По данным Банка России, экспорт товаров Российской Федерации (по методологии платежного баланса) в 2017 году увеличился на 25,2 % по сравнению с 2016 годом – с 281,8 млрд до 353,0 млрд долл. США. Экспорт сырой нефти увеличился на 26,6 % – до 93,3 млрд долл. США, нефтепродуктов – на 26,3 % –до 58,2 млрд долл. США, природного газа – на 22,0 % – до 38,0 млрд долл. США, сжиженного природного газа (СПГ) – на 9,5 % – до 3,2 млрд долл. США. Доля углеводородного сырья и нефтепродуктов в общем объеме экспорта товаров в 2017 году составила 54,6 %.

Экспорт товаров Российской Федерации, млрд долл. США Источник: Банк России

Увеличение экспортной выручки положительно сказалось на динамике курса национальной валюты несмотря на сохраняющиеся финансовые санкции. По данным Банка России, среднегодовой номинальный курс доллара США к рублю снизился с 67,03 руб. за доллар в 2016 году до 58,35 руб. за доллар в 2017 году, т. е. в среднем за 2017 год рубль к доллару укрепился на 14,7 % г/г.

Изменение среднегодовых номинальных валютных курсов стран – экспортеров нефти к доллару США в 2017 году (в % г/г)Знак «+» означает укрепление национальных валют к доллару США; знак «–»  – обесценение национальных валют к доллару США. Источники: МВФ, Всемирный банк и Банк России

Номинальный курс доллара США к рублю снизился с 60,66 руб. за доллар на конец 2016 года до 57,60 руб. за доллар на конец 2017 года. Укрепление рубля составило 5,3 % г/г.

Изменение номинальных валютных курсов стран – экспортеров нефти к доллару США в 2017 году (в % г/г на конец периода)Знак «+» означает укрепление национальных валют к доллару США; знак «–»  – обесценение национальных валют к доллару США. Источники: МВФ, Всемирный банк и Банк России

В 2017 году инфляция (декабрь 2017 года к декабрю 2016 года) составила 2,5 % (5,4 % в 2016 году), что на 1,5 п. п. ниже целевого уровня 4,0 %, установленного на 2017 год в соответствии с  «Основными направлениями единой государственной денежно-кредитной политики на 2017 год и период 2018 и 2019 годов» Банка России. Среднегодовой индекс потребительских цен в 2017 году составил 3,7 % (7,1 % в 2016 году). Помимо политики Банка России замедлению инфляции в 2017 году способствовало повышение номинального курса российского рубля к валютам стран – основных торговых партнеров и увеличение выпуска сельскохозяйственной продукции. Согласно прогнозу Банка России от 22 ноября 2017 года, инфляция в 2018–2020 годах составит 4,0 %.

Средний номинальный курс доллара США к рублю (руб. за долл. США) Источник: Банк России
Инфляция в России (в % декабрь к декабрю предыдущего года) Источник: Росстат

Цены производителей промышленных товаров в 2017 году выросли на 8,4 % (декабрь 2017 года к декабрю 2016 года) (7,5 % в 2016 году). Среднегодовой индекс цен производителей промышленных товаров в 2017 году составил 7,6 % (4,3 % в 2016 году). По прогнозу МЭР от 27 октября 2017 года, индекс цен производителей промышленной продукции в 2018 году составит 2,5 % (декабрь 2018 года к декабрю 2017 года).

В 2017 году возросли транспортные расходы нефтяных компаний в России из-за роста тарифов. С 1 января 2017 года индексация ставок тарифов на услуги ПАО «Транснефть» на транспортировку нефти по магистральным нефтепроводам составила 3,5 %, сетевые тарифы на транспортировку нефти по нефтепроводу «Восточная Сибирь – Тихий океан» до Китая и нефтеналивного порта Козьмино были увеличены на 4,0 %.

C 1 февраля 2017 года тарифы на услуги по транспортировке нефти по территории Республики Беларусь были проиндексированы на 7,7 %.

С 1 января 2017 года железнодорожные тарифы были проиндексированы на 4 %, также в январе 2017 года была проведена дополнительная индексация железнодорожного тарифа к тарифу декабря 2016 года на 2 %.