Development of Hard–to–Recover Reserves

The Company makes consistent efforts in bringing hard-to-recover oil reserves into active development. Production of hard-to-recover reserves subsidized by the Government in accordance with applicable lawsAccording to Federal Law No. 213-FZ dated 23 July 2013. increased to 16.3 mmt in 2017, more than doubling the 2014 level. In 2017, over 900 wells were drilled for hard-to-recover reserves.

16.3 mmt oil production from hard-to-recover reserves in 2017
0.55 bln tonnes Rosneft’s high-viscosity oil reserves

Today the Company’s portfolio of assets with hard-to-recover reserves consists of more than 140 fields holding a total of over 2.5 bln tonnes of oil in recoverable reserves (АВ1С1+В2С2).

2.5 bln tonnes of oil total hard-to-recover reserves

The Company’s largest hard-to-recover reserves asset is RN-Yuganskneftegaz, with over 1 bln tonnes of hard-to-recover reserves. A significant amount of hard-to-recover reserves is also recorded on the books of RN-Nyaganneftegaz, Verkhnechonskneftegaz, and RN-Uvatneftegaz. These enterprises and RN-Yuganskneftegaz currently account for approximately 90% of the Company’s resource base of hard-to-recover reserves.

The Company’s recoverable reserves of high-viscosity oilA viscosity of more than 200 mPa according to Federal Law No. 151-FZ dated 27 July 2006. within the Russian Federation total more than 550 mmt, primarily concentrated in the Russkoye field, unique for its size, and where the drilling program was further implemented in 2017: 83 horizontal wells were drilled, including eight multilateral horizontal wells.

In 2017, the Company’s portfolio of assets with hard-to-recover reserves was expanded through the formation of the Erginsky cluster that comprises the Kondinskoe group of fields, where hard-to-recover reserves exceed 150 mmt and the Erginsky License Area, the reserves of which amount to103 mmt.

The expansion of the Company’s resource base of hard-to-recover reserves in 2017 was also made possible through implementing an extensive exploration program on formations containing hard-to-recover reserves, which has enabled the Company to define formations with low-permeability reservoirs and additionally increase the estimated volume of the Company’s hard-to-recover reserves by over 170 mmt. These efforts will allow the Company to meet the Minerals Extraction Tax (MET) credit conditions for hard-to-recover reserves, thereby providing an extra incentive to step up development of these projects.

The bulk of subsidized production from hard-to-recover and high-viscosity reserves is concentrated in Western Siberian fields which contain low-permeability formations of the Tyumen suite, the Achimov deposits, and formations containing high-viscosity oil. The post-2022 forecast of hard-to-recover reserves development strongly depends on alleviating geological and technological uncertainties, for which the Company actively seeks optimal technical and economic solutions. The Company considers possibilities of further expanding its hard-to-recover resource base through unlocking the full potential of high-viscosity reserves, as well as unconventional oil reserves from the Bazhenov, Abalak, Khadum, and Domanik suites. Achieving additional potential is possible through successful pilot development in joint-project frameworks in collaboration with global partners.

Apart from joint projects to identify, test, and deploy technologies for hard-to-recover reserves development, the Company has its own program of exploration and pilot projects aimed at developing low-permeability formations, high-viscosity oil deposits, and the Bazhenov suite within the framework of target innovative projects. The program includes development of the following technologies:

  • developing silty sand deposits (ultra-low permeability, high heterogeneity) with a geologically adaptive development system and enhanced completion technologies
  • bringing Bazhenov suite deposits into production based on specific core research, localization of prospects for drilling, and completion technologies
  • thermal recovery methods for ultra-high-viscosity oil fields in the Samara Region
  • developing the high-viscosity oil reserves contained within palynological complex formations in Western Siberia, the technology for which may also be applicable in developing the Russkoye and North Komsomolskoye fields, as well as the Messoyakhskoye project fields.
2017 RESULTS

In 2017, exploration and development projects on hard-to-recover reserves delivered further positive results.

The Company continued implementing its innovative project to improve exploration technologies and modelling of low-permeability formations at RN-Yuganskneftegaz fields. Pilot projects to re-orient hydraulic fractures were conducted – mechanical geological models were built and three horizontal wells were drilled with multi-stage hydraulic fracturing and transversal pointing of fractures relative to the well.

Constructing wells with an increased length of horizontal sections is currently being carried out, and horizontal wells with a horizontal section length of up to 2 thousand m have been drilled and developed through 10-stage hydraulic fracturing.

The Company continues pilot development of producing deposits of the Bazhenov suite. In 2017, eight directional and four horizontal wells were drilled in RN-Yuganskneftegaz fields, standard hydraulic fracturing was also carried out, as well as hydraulic fracturing with a high rate of fluid flow and low-viscosity fluids. In 2018, multi-stage hydraulic fracturing at the Bazhenov suite will be continued.

Drilling rig at a Vankor cluster field Drilling rig at a Vankor cluster field

Разработка трудноизвлекаемых запасов

В Компании ведется планомерная работа по вовлечению в активную разработку ТРИЗ нефти. Объем добычи, обеспеченный льготами в соответствии с действующим законодательствомСогласно Федеральному закону от 23 июля 2013 года № 213-ФЗ., в 2017 году вырос до 16,3 млн т, что более чем в два раза превышает уровень 2014 года. За 2017 год на залежи ТРИЗ пробурено более 900 скважин.

16,3 млн т добыча нефти из трудноизвлекаемых запасов в 2017 году
0,55 млрд т запасы высоковязкой нефти Компании

Портфель активов ТРИЗ Компании на сегодня насчитывает более 140 месторождений с суммарными извлекаемыми запасами нефти (АВ1С1 + В2С2) в объеме 2,5 млрд т.

2,5 млрд т нефти суммарные трудноизвлекаемые запасы Компании

Крупнейшим активом ТРИЗ Компании является ООО «РН-Юганскнефтегаз» с объемом ТРИЗ более 1,0 млрд т. Значительный объем ТРИЗ также числится на балансе таких предприятий, как АО «РН-Няганьнефтегаз», АО «Верхнечонскнефтегаз», ООО «РН-Уватнефтегаз». Вместе с ООО «РН-Юганскнефтегаз» эти предприятия на текущий момент обеспечивают около 90 % ресурсной базы ТРИЗ Компании.

Извлекаемые запасы высоковязкойВязкость выше 200 мПа*с, согласно Федеральному закону от 27 июля 2006 года № 151-ФЗ. нефти (ВВН) Компании на территории Российской Федерации составляют более 550 млн т, из них бóльшая часть сосредоточена на уникальном по размерам Русском месторождении, на котором в 2017 году продолжена реализация Программы бурения – пробурено 83 горизонтальные скважины, в том числе восемь многозабойных горизонтальных скважин.

В 2017 году портфель активов ТРИЗ расширился за счет формирования Эргинского кластера, в который входят месторождения Кондинской группы с объемом ТРИЗ более 150 млн т, а также Эргинский лицензионный участок, запасы которого составляют 103 млн т нефти.

Рост ресурсной базы ТРИЗ Компании в 2017 году произошел также за счет проведения обширной Программы исследований на пластах с ТРИЗ, что позволило уточнить параметры пластов с низкопроницаемыми коллекторами и увеличить оцениваемый объем ТРИЗ Компании дополнительно более чем на 170 млн т. Проведенные работы позволят выполнить условия применения льгот по НДПИ для ТРИЗ, что обеспечит дополнительный стимул для наращивания активности на этих проектах.


Основной объем льготируемой добычи из залежей ТРИЗ и ВВН приходится на месторождения Западной Сибири – низкопроницаемые пласты тюменской свиты, ачимовских залежей, а также пласты с нефтью повышенной вязкости. Прогноз уровня разработки ТРИЗ после 2022 года существенно зависит от снятия геологических и технологических неопределенностей, для которых выполняется поиск оптимальных технико-экономических решений. Компания рассматривает возможность дальнейшего увеличения ресурсной базы ТРИЗ за счет реализации потенциала нетрадиционных запасов нефти (баженовская, абалакская, хадумская, доманиковая свиты) и ВВН. Дополнительный потенциал возможен в случае успешного осуществления опытно-промышленных работ в рамках совместных проектов с международными партнерами.

Кроме совместных проектов, направленных на поиск, апробацию и внедрение технологий разработки ТРИЗ, Компания реализует собственную Программу исследований и пилотных проектов по разработке низкопроницаемых пластов, ВВН и баженовской свиты в рамках целевых инновационных проектов (ЦИП), которая включает разработку следующих технологий:

  • освоения песчано-алевритистых залежей (сверхнизкая проницаемость, высокая неоднородность) на основе геологически-адаптивной системы разработки и развития технологий заканчивания скважин;
  • вовлечения в добычу нефти из отложений баженовской свиты на основе специальных исследований керна, локализации перспективных зон под бурение и технологий заканчивания скважин;
  • теплового воздействия для условий месторождений сверхвысоковязкой нефти Самарской области;
  • выработки запасов ВВН пластов ПК Западной Сибири. Данные технологии также могут быть актуальны для разработки запасов Русского и Северо-Комсомольского месторождений, а также месторождений Мессояхского проекта.
Итоги 2017 года

По итогам 2017 года получены очередные положительные результаты по проектам изучения и разработки ТРИЗ.

Продолжена реализация инновационного проекта по совершенствованию технологий исследования и моделирования свойств низкопроницаемых пластов на базе месторождений ООО «РН-Юганскнефтегаз», где проведены опытно-промышленные работы по переориентации трещин ГРП: построены геомеханические модели и пробурены три горизонтальные скважины с проведением МГРП с поперечной ориентацией трещин ГРП относительно ствола скважины.

Ведутся работы по строительству скважин с увеличенной длиной горизонтального ствола – пробурены и освоены горизонтальные скважины с длиной горизонтального участка до 2 тыс. м и проведением до 10 стадий ГРП.

Компания продолжает опытно-промышленные работы по освоению продуктивных отложений баженовской свиты. По итогам года на месторождениях ООО «РН-Юганскнефтегаз» пробурено восемь наклонно-направленных и четыре горизонтальные скважины, проведены успешные ГРП по стандартным технологиям, а также ГРП с повышенным расходом жидкости и применением маловязкого состава рабочего флюида. Работы по проведению МГРП на баженовской свите будут продолжены в 2018 году.

Буровая установка на месторождении Ванкорского кластера Буровая установка на месторождении Ванкорского кластера