Research, Design, and Innovations

Rosneft carries out its innovative activities in accordance with the Innovative Development Program approved by the Rosneft Board of Directors.

The program is focused on the Company’s strategic goals and is based on its strategic priorities, such as efficiency, sustainable growth, transparency, social responsibility, and innovations.

The program provides for a range of activities with a focus on:

  • development and deployment of new technologies
  • development, production, and launch of new, world-class innovative products and services
  • assistance in the Company’s modernization and technological development through significant improvements of key performance indicators for operating processes
  • increasing the Company’s capitalization and competitive advantages in the global market.

R&D costs for full year 2017 totaled RUB 29.9 bln (to be confirmed).

All activities scheduled for 2017 were fully implemented.

29.9 rub bln R&D costs in 2017
Digitalized refinery control room

Target Innovative Projects

Over the reporting year, special attention was paid to the implementation of R&D results and registering intellectual property rights. As a result of target innovative projects implemented by the Company in 2017, 49 intellectual property applications were submitted.

UPSTREAM INNOVATIONS

  • A pilot free water knock-out unit with a capacity of 5 thousand cu. m per day was built, tested and commissioned on the site cluster pumping station 8 at RN-Purneftegaz’s Barsukovskoye field.
  • A set of research and testing techniques was developed to support research into the Berezovskaya suite deposits. A regional conceptual model with lithofacies characteristics was built for Upper Cretaceous deposits in Western Siberia, along with a sketch map of the area’s generation potential. For the Kharampurskoye field, well logging interpretation methodology was developed and two 1D mechanical earth models were built to evaluate hydraulic fracturing design.
  • On a series of wells at the Priobskoye field, high-speed hydraulic fracturing technology was tested based on proprietary designs for testing development technologies for argillaceous and siliceous low-permeability rocks in Upper Jurassic deposits. The tests demonstrated that accident-free use of this hydraulic fracturing technology was technologically possible.
  • A program module was developed for detecting cavernous fractured reservoirs through seismic scattered wave separation in Gaussian beam-based survey systems (2D).
  • Pilot testing was completed at Samaraneftegaz on the borehole version of a unique Russian electromagnetic probe for high-resolution logging of oil and gas wells under certain conditions such as strong reservoir compartmentalization and anisotropy of geological properties. Field calibration equipment was designed and manufactured, along with a system of electromagnetic probe data processing and interpretation, and the engineering documentation was finalized.
  • Modules for the corporate software suite RN-KIM – Hydrodynamics, Intermode, and RExLab – were designed and tested to support hydrodynamic modeling of formation systems.
  • The development of Current Recoverable Reserve Ranking software module was completed for the RN-KIN petroleum engineering toolkit. The module was successfully tested at LLC Tyumen Oil Scientific Center and LLC RN-UfaNIPIneft.
  • The development of version 1.00 of the corporate RN-GRID hydraulic fracture simulator was successfully completed. The new simulator is now piloted at Group Subsidiaries.
  • The Company developed the catalyst composition and synthesis method for obtaining synthetic hydrocarbons with high isoalkane content, as well as a method to obtain synthetic crude using the catalysts.
  • Draft specifications were finalized for synthetic crude and high isoalkane content synthetic crude that meets requirements for trunk oil pipeline transport and compatibility with oil refining technologies.

INNOVATIVE RESEARCH ON THE ARCTIC SHELF

  • Winter ice and metocean studies were conducted in the Khatanga Gulf and the adjoining area of the Laptev Sea (Khatanga-Winter 2017 expedition). The studies established the morphometric parameters of the ice cover and the internal structure of pressure ridges and stamukhi (grounded ice hummocks), ice-sheet dynamics, the physical and mechanical properties of ice, as well as weather profile and water mass conditions.
  • The Kara-Summer 2017 research expedition was organized and conducted in the Kara and Barents Seas. The expedition carried out a range of activities, most notably:
    • Maintenance services were provided for the recently installed infrastructure in the Kara Sea
    • Field experiments were conducted in diverting icebergs. A total of 18 iceberg towing experiments were conducted, including under harsh weather conditions and in sea ice with various ice consolidation ratios
    • Methods for detecting dangerous bodies of ices were tested
    • Provisional local specifications were developed for the East Prinovozemelsky license areas in the Kara Sea based on the baseline data obtained through field and desk studies conducted between 2012 and 2016
  • Within efforts to develop conceptual design solutions for extending the operating season for the Arctic shelf facilities, a conceptual design was developed for the ice protection of the jack-up rig riser. The impact of the proposed solutions in terms of extending the jack-up rig drilling season under ice conditions was also estimated.
Corporate research and design complex

Rosneft includes 27 corporate research and design institutes employing over 11 thousand scientists out of which 583 hold Ph.D. and 45 – doctoral degrees.

In 2017, the key achievements of the Corporate Research and Design Complex were as follows:

  • Over 12 thousand linear km of 2D and 10 thousand sq. km of 3D seismic data processed
  • Over 117 thousand linear km of 2D and 14 thousand sq. km of 3D onshore and offshore seismic data interpreted
  • 31 fields and 162 new deposits discovered with a total 233 mmtoe of АВ1С1+В2С2 reserves
  • 100% of Rosneft’s oil and gas production projects supported (approvals secured for 378 project design documents from the Central Development Commission of Rosnedra (Russia's Subsoil Agency))
  • Real-time geological support provided for drilling of 499 horizontal wells (30% of the total)
  • Positive opinions from Russia’s Main Directorate of State Expert Review (GlavgosExpertiza) obtained for 673 capital construction projects planned by the Company

INNOVATIONS IN REFINING AND PETROCHEMICALS

The Company used its own refinery feedstocks to successfully run independent comparative tests of IDZ-028RN isodewaxing and HG-017RN hydrofinishing catalysts produced by JSC Angarsk Catalyzers and Organic Synthesis Plant in the process of Arctic and winter diesel fuels production. Based on the positive test results, the Company is currently implementing a program to shift the flow at G-24/1 facility of Bashneft’s Bashneft-Ufaneftekhim Refinery to diesel fuel isodewaxing.

The Company finalized initial design data for:

  • a 500 tpa dearomatized liquid paraffins facility leveraging modern hydrocatalytic processes. The facility is planned to be constructed at JSC Angarsk Catalyzers and Organic Synthesis Plant’s production site
  • a 15 ktpa waxy oil base facility to offer a range of Arctic lubricants, including hydraulic oils, motor oils, and plastic lubricants. The technology is planned to be deployed for one of the flows at G-24 facility of JSC Angarsk Petrochemical Company’s Oils Plant.

Laboratory-scale technology was developed for manufacturing OMTI (Thermal Engineering Institute’s fire-resistant oil), designed for turbine lubrication and control systems at Russian nuclear facilities. Russia currently lacks facilities to produce such oils domestically due to the loss of the resource and production base. The oils are imported.

The composition and method of catalyst synthesis were developed for producing synthetic high-viscosity polyalphaolefin base oils. These oils are used as feedstock for gearbox oils and in production of high-load assemblies and mechanisms.

Hydrogenation technique to convert acetone into isopropanol was developed as a laboratory method. Hydrogenation of acetone to isopropanol is one of the easiest solutions for phenol/acetone producers in improving efficiency through shifting production to higher margin products.

Specifications and testing programs were developed for RN-RKM7 and RN-RKM10 synthetic oils for the aerospace industry. The Company demonstrated the possibility of using esters, polyalphaolefins, and synthesized mono cycloalkanes as base components for synthetic oils used in the aerospace industry. The proposed methods of sample synthesis for synthetic base components of oils were laboratory tested.

The additive package (formulation) was developed for all-season energy efficient hydraulic oils compliant with DIN 51524-3 (HVLP level). The adaption of the Russian-made thickening agent to the additive package will enable substitution for imported packages and additives currently used by the Company, as well as provide it with the competitive advantage of producing own energy-efficient HVLP hydraulic oils for industrial and mobile equipment.

Rosneft’s refineries manufacture advanced oils, lubricants, and additives

The Company successfully tested the functional properties of RN-AT1.003 multifunctional additive in the composition of commercial gasoline produced at the Syzran Refinery. The test results showed the following:

  • Using the CEC F05-A93 method with 400 ppm content, the level of detergency achieved met the requirements of the Worldwide Fuel Charter (WFC) and was at par with the imported multifunctional additive used in the gasolines produced by the Company’s refineries
  • With a content above 200 ppm, anti-corrosion activity was shown in commercial gasolines and gasolines with oxygenate additives (TAME, MTBE, or ethanol)
  • There is no adverse effect on the physicochemical properties or performance of gasoline, nor any increase in CH, CO, or NOx emissions as compared to additive-free gasoline

POLYMERIC MATERIALS

  • A new laboratory method was developed for producing ultra-lightweight polymeric proppant (microspheres) based on polydicyclopentadiene (PDCPD), and adjusted for industrial process conditions and equipment.
  • The laboratory process was upscaled, and a production process was developed for PDCPD-based ultra-lightweight polymeric proppant (microspheres). The Company optimized the method for producing polymeric proppant precursor including the polymerization phase preceded by generation of monodisperse monomer droplets. The method increases the yield of PDCPD spherical granules of the desired fraction to 76% during the polymerization phase.

Adaptation and Adoption of Advanced Technologies in 2017

As part of its efforts to adopt promising efficient technologies developed by Russian and foreign companies, the Company organized testing, adaptation, and adoption of new technologies as part of pilot test projects in 2017. During the tests, the key features of the technologies were evaluated, and feasibility studies were conducted to assess the case for, and effectiveness of, their use in the geological and technical conditions of the Company’s upstream subsidiaries. A total of 684 tests was conducted as part of pilot test projects in 2017, and 178 thousand tonnes of incremental oil production were recovered as a result.

Following the pilot test projects, 109 technologies were tested at 16 subsidiaries in 2017. The Company and relevant business units review the results and assess the economic viability of implementing the proposed new technologies, as well as prepare plans for their roll-out and implementation.

As part of the implementation program, in 2017, the Company implemented and rolled out 118 new technologies that had been previously tested as part of pilot tests and of which the economic viability had been confirmed. The scope of implementation and roll-out amounted to 6.6 thousand items, with funding totaling RUB 10,002 mln.

As part of the efforts to implement the results of Target Innovative Projects, 18 license agreements worth a total of RUB 80.7 mln were signed for the transfer of software solutions (RN-KIN, RN-KIM, and seismic modules), including to provide training to students in industry-related programs at leading Russian universities.

In 2017, the combined proven economic benefit from the results of Targeted Innovative Projects implemented over the last three years exceeded RUB 3 bln.

Implementation of Projects to Test New Technologies

Наука, проектирование, инновации

Инновационная деятельность «Роснефти» реализуется в соответствии с Программой инновационного развития, утвержденной Советом директоров ПАО «НК «Роснефть».

Программа ориентирована на достижение стратегических целей Компании и исходит из ее стратегических приоритетов, таких как эффективность, устойчивый рост, прозрачность, социальная ответственность и инновации.

Программа обеспечивает формирование комплекса мероприятий, направленных:

  • на разработку и внедрение новых технологий;
  • разработку, производство и вывод на рынок новых инновационных продуктов и услуг, соответствующих мировому уровню;
  • содействие модернизации и технологическому развитию Компании путем значительного улучшения основных показателей эффективности производственных процессов;
  • повышение капитализации и конкурентоспособности Компании на мировом рынке.

Объем затрат на научно-исследовательские и опытно-конструкторские работы (НИОКР) по итогам 2017 года составил 29,9 млрд руб.

Все запланированные на 2017 год мероприятия выполнены.

29,9 млрд руб. объем затрат на НИОКР в 2017 году
Цифровые технологии в операторной НПЗ

Целевые инновационные проекты

В отчетном году уделено особое внимание внедрению полученных результатов НИОКР и закреплению прав на интеллектуальную собственность. По итогам реализации целевых инновационных проектов в 2017 году Компанией подано 49 заявок на получение охранных документов.

Инновации в области разведки и добычи

  • Построена, успешно испытана и введена в эксплуатацию опытная установка раннего предварительного сброса воды производительностью 5 тыс. куб. м в сутки в районе КНС8 Барсуковского месторождения ООО «РН-Пурнефтегаз».
  • Создан комплекс методик проведения исследований и испытаний для изучения отложений березовской свиты. Подготовлена региональная концептуальная модель с лито-фациальными характеристиками объекта, построена Карта-схема генерационного потенциала верхнего мела Западной Сибири. Для Харампурского месторождения создана методика интерпретации ГИС, построены две 1D-геомеханические модели для оценки дизайна ГРП.
  • На серии скважин Приобского месторождения проведены испытания технологии высокоскоростного ГРП на основе собственных разработанных дизайнов для опробования технологий разработки глинисто-кремнистых низкопроницаемых пород верхнеюрских отложений. Испытания показали технологическую возможность безаварийного применения данной технологии ГРП.
  • Разработан программный модуль для выявления трещиновато-кавернозных резервуаров путем выделения рассеянных волн по сейсмическим данным для профильных систем наблюдения (2D) на основе гауссовых пучков.
  • Завершены опытно-промышленные испытания в АО «Самаранефтегаз» скважинного образца уникального отечественного электромагнитного зонда для высокоразрешающего каротажа нефтегазовых скважин в условиях высокой расчлененности разреза, наличия анизотропии геологических свойств. Разработаны и изготовлены полевое калибровочное оборудование и система обработки и интерпретации данных электромагнитного зонда, а также доработана конструкторская документация.
  • Разработаны и протестированы модули корпоративного программного комплекса для гидродинамического моделирования пластовых систем ПК «РН-КИМ» – «Гидродинамика», «Интермод», RExLab.
  • Завершена разработка программного модуля «Ранжирование ТИЗ» для комплекса инструментов для нефтяного инжиниринга (ПК «РН-КИН»). Модуль прошел тестирование в ООО «Тюменский нефтяной научный центр» и ООО «РН-УфаНИПИнефть».
  • Завершена разработка корпоративного симулятора ГРП «РН-ГРИД» версии 1.0. Симулятор проходит пилотное внедрение в Обществах Группы.
  • Разработаны состав и способ синтеза катализатора для получения синтетических углеводородов с повышенным содержанием изоалканов, а также способ получения синтетической нефти с использованием разработанных катализаторов.
  • Доработан проект технических условий на синтетическую нефть и синтетическую нефть с повышенным содержанием изоалканов, отвечающую требованиям транспортировки по магистральным нефтепроводам и совместимости с технологиями нефтепереработки.

Инновационные исследования на арктическом шельфе

  • Проведены зимние ледовые и гидрометеорологические исследования в Хатангском заливе и на прилегающей акватории моря Лаптевых (экспедиция «Хатанга–Зима 2017») . В ходе проведенных исследований определены морфометрические параметры ледяного покрова и внутренней структуры торосов и стамух, динамические характеристики ледяного покрова, физико-механические свойства льда, характеристики погоды и водных масс.
  • Организована и проведена научно-исследовательская экспедиция «Кара–Лето 2017» в Карском и Баренцевом морях. В рамках экспедиции:
    • выполнено обслуживание ранее установленной инфраструктуры в Карском море;
    • проведена серия натурных экспериментов по физическому воздействию на айсберги. Выполнено 18 экспериментов по буксировке айсбергов, в том числе в тяжелых погодных условиях, а также в морском льду разной сплоченности;
    • испытаны методы обнаружения опасных ледяных образований;
    • разработаны временные локальные технические условия для Восточно-Приновоземельских лицензионных участков в Карском море на основе данных по параметрам окружающей среды, полученных в рамках экспедиционных и камеральных работ 2012–2016 годов.
  • В рамках разработки концептуальных решений для продления сезона работы технических средств на арктическом шельфе разработаны концептуальные решения по конструкции ледовой защиты райзера самоподъемной буровой установки (СПБУ), а также выполнена оценка увеличения продолжительности бурового сезона СПБУ в ледовых условиях с учетом предлагаемых решений.
Корпоративный научно-проектный комплекС (КПНК)

В периметр ПАО «НК «Роснефть» входят 27 научно-исследовательских и проектных институтов, в которых работают более 11 тыс. научных специалистов, из которых 583 человека – кандидаты наук, 45 – доктора наук.

Производственная деятельность КНПК в 2017 году характеризуется следующими ключевыми показателями:

  • обработано более 12 тыс. пог. км 2D- и 10 тыс. кв. км 3D- сейсморазведочных данных;
  • проинтерпретировано более 117 тыс. пог. км 2D- и 14 тыс. кв. км 3D- сейсморазведочных данных по суше и шельфу;
  • открыты 162 новые залежи и 31 новое месторождение с запасами АВ1С1 + B2С2 233 млн т н. э.;
  • осуществлено проектное сопровождение 100 % добычи нефти и газа Компании (378 проектно-технологических документов защищены в ЦКР Роснедр)
  • обеспечено получение положительного заключения Главгосэкспертизы по 673 проектам для капитального строительства Компании.

Инновации в области нефтепереработки и нефтехимии

Успешно проведены независимые сравнительные испытания катализаторов изодепарафинизации IDZ-028RN и гидрофинишинга HG-017RN на сырье НПЗ Компании, выпущенных в АО «АЗКиОС» в процессе получения арктического и зимних дизельных топлив. На основании полученных положительных данных в настоящее время реализуется Программа по переводу потока установки Г-24/1 филиала ПАО АНК «Башнефть» «Башнефть-Уфанефтехим» на изодепарафинизацию дизельного топлива.

Завершена разработка исходных данных для проектирования:

  • производства 500 т/год глубокодеараматизированных белых масел с применением современных гидрокаталитических процессов. Организация производства планируется на промышленной площадке АО «АЗКиОС»;
  • производства низкозастывающей основы масел мощностью 15 тыс. т/год для получения ассортимента арктических смазочных материалов – гидравлических, моторных масел и пластичных смазок. Технология планируется к реализации на одном из потоков установки Г-24 завода масел АО «АНХК».

Разработана в лабораторном масштабе технология получения огнестойкого масла типа ОМТИ (огнестойкое масло теплотехнического института), предназначенного для использования в системах смазки и регулирования турбоагрегатов на объектах атомной энергетики Российской Федерации. В настоящее время производство подобных масел в стране отсутствует ввиду потери сырьевой и производственной баз, поставки масел осуществляются по импорту.

Разработаны состав и способ синтеза катализатора для получения синтетических высоковязких полиальфаолефиновых базовых масел. Данный тип масел применяется для производства трансмиссионных масел и высоконагруженных узлов и механизмов.

Разработан способ гидрирования ацетона в изопропиловый спирт в виде лабораторной методики. Гидрирование ацетона с получением изопропилового спирта является одним из наиболее простых путей повышения экономической эффективности работы предприятий – производителей фенола/ацетона за счет выпуска более маржинальных продуктов.

Разработаны технические требования и программы испытаний синтетических масел РН-РКМ7 и РН-РКМ10 для ракетно-космической техники (РКТ). Показана возможность использования в качестве компонентов основы синтетических масел для РКТ сложных эфиров, полиальфаолефинов, синтезированных моноциклоалканов. Предложенные способы синтеза образцов синтетических компонентов базовых основ масел апробированы в лабораторных условиях.

Разработана композиция (рецептура) пакета присадок для всесезонных энергосберегающих гидравлических масел в соответствии с требованиями DIN 51524-3 (уровень HVLP). Разработка композиции пакета присадок и адаптация к нему отечественного загустителя обеспечит импортозамещение применяемых в Компании импортных пакетов и присадок, а также обеспечит конкурентное преимущество Компании в области получения собственных энергосберегающих гидравлических масел уровня HVLP для промышленного оборудования и мобильной техники.

Перерабатывающий комплекс «Роснефти» выпускает высокотехнологичные масла, смазочные материалы, присадки

Успешно проведены испытания функциональных свойств многофункциональной присадки РН-АТ1.003 в составе товарного бензина производства АО «Сызранский НПЗ». По результатам испытаний установлено:

  • по методу CEC F05-A93 в концентрации 400 ppm обеспечивается уровень моющей эффективности, соответствующий требованиям Всемирной топливной хартии (WFС) и зарубежной многофункциональной присадке, применяемой в бензинах производства НПЗ Компании;
  • в концентрации от 200 ppm проявляется антикоррозионная активность в товарном бензине и бензине с оксигенатными добавками (МТАЭ, МТБЭ, этанол);
  • не оказывается отрицательного влияния на физико-химические и эксплуатационные свойства бензина и не происходит увеличения эмиссии CH, CO и NOx по сравнению с бензином без присадки.

Полимерные материалы

  • Разработана лабораторная методика получения сверхлегкого полимерного проппанта (микросферы) на основе полидициклопентадиена (ПДЦПД) и адаптирована к промышленным технологическим условиям и оборудованию.
  • Выполнено масштабирование лабораторного процесса, разработана технология производства сверхлегкого полимерного проппанта (микросферы) на основе ПДЦПД. Оптимизирован способ получения прекурсора полимерного проппанта, включающий стадию полимеризации с предварительной генерацией монодисперсных капель мономера. Данный способ позволяет повысить до 76 % выход сферических гранул ПДЦПД целевой фракции на стадии полимеризации.

Адаптация и внедрение передовых технологий в 2017 году

В ходе деятельности по привлечению в Компанию перспективных эффективных технологий, разработанных отечественными и иностранными компаниями, в 2017 году была организована работа по испытаниям, адаптации и внедрению новых технологий в рамках проектов опытно-промышленных испытаний (ОПИ). В процессе работ определялись ключевые характеристики технологий и проводилась технико-экономическая оценка возможности и эффективности их применения в геолого-технических условиях дочерних добывающих Обществ Группы. Всего в рамках проектов ОПИ в 2017 году проведено 684 испытания, в ходе которых дополнительная добыча нефти составила 178 тыс. т.

По результатам реализации проектов ОПИ в 2017 году в 16 дочерних предприятиях завершены испытания 109 технологий. Совместно с профильными структурными подразделениями Компании проводится анализ результатов и оценка экономической эффективности применения технологий, формируются планы их тиражирования и внедрения.

В рамках реализации Программы внедрения в 2017 году выполнялось внедрение и тиражирование 118 новых технологий, испытанных ранее в рамках ОПИ и показавших технико-экономическую эффективность. Объем внедрения и тиражирования составил 6,6 тыс. шт., объем финансирования внедрения и тиражирования – 10 002 млн руб.

В рамках внедрения результатов целевых инновационных проектов было заключено 18 лицензионных договоров на передачу программного обеспечения (ПК «РН-КИН», ПК «РН-КИМ», модули для сейсмики) на сумму 80,7 млн руб., в том числе для обучения студентов специализированных кафедр ведущих российских вузов.

Подтвержденный экономический эффект в 2017 году от внедренных за последние три года результатов целевых инновационных проектов составил более 3 млрд руб.

Показатели реализации проектов по испытанию новых технологий