Operating results

Development of Hard-to-Recover Reserves

The Company’s portfolio of assets with hard-to-recover reserves currently consists of more than 120 fields with over 4 bt of oil in recoverable reserves. Rosneft’s key assets of this type are RN-Yuganskneftegaz and Vostok Oil, with aggregate hard-to-recover reserves of over 2 bt of oil. They are followed by RN-Nyaganneftegaz, RN-Uvatneftegaz and Samaraneftegaz currently accounting for about 90% of the Company’s resource base in terms of hard-to-recover assets.

The Company consistently develops its hard-to-recover oil reserves. Oil production from deposits classified as hard-to-recover reserves under the applicable laws amounted to 19.7 mmt amid the restrictions under the new OPEC+ deal. The share of hard-to-recover reserves rose from 9.7% of the Company’s output in 2019 to 10.2% in 2020. In 2020, Rosneft increased the number of production wells at fields with hard-to-recover reserves by 20% year-on-year to over 4.8 thousand wells.

19.7 mmt of hydrocarbon production from hard-to-recover reserves in 2020 >4 bt of total hard-to-recover reserves >2 bt of oil in total RN-Yuganskneftegaz and Vostok Oil reserves

In improving its development technologies, the Company focuses on well stimulation at low-permeability formations, in particular using more sophisticated and longer horizontal wells with a higher number of hydraulic fracturing stages. In recent years, Rosneft has commissioned yearly an average of ~100 wells with horizontal sections of over 1 km, using multi-stage hydraulic fracturing, to tap into formations with hard-to-recover reserves. The use of longer horizontal wells and a higher number of hydraulic fracturing stages enables the Company to effectively develop previously unprofitable deposits. On top of that, in 2020, the following activities were carried out as part of projects to develop low-permeable reservoirs:

  • more than 50 elements of development systems with horizontal injection wells were drilled;
  • more than 100 wells were drilled using infill drilling under the standard development scheme;
  • a development technique for low-permeability reservoirs was created with the use of horizontal wells drilled along the regional stress with cross fractures from hydraulic fracturing enabling to boost well productivity rate compared to the standard development scheme and mitigate risks of breaking waterflood-induced fractures;
  • a technology of simultaneous isolated production and injection into horizontal wells drilled using multi-stage hydraulic fracturing techniques (MSHF HW) was developed;

In the coming years, the bulk of production from hard-to-recover reserves will be concentrated in the Western Siberian fields with low-permeability formations of the Tyumen suite and the Achimov deposits. Beyond 2020, though, oil production from hard-to-recover reserves will largely depend on elimination of geological and engineering uncertainties related to appraisal and the choice of best development solutions. To this end, the Company implements an exploration programme coupled with pilot projects set to develop low-permeability formations, the Bazhenov suite and high-viscosity oil deposits as part of the Target Innovative Projects. Target Innovative Projects seek to develop technologies to tackle silty sand deposits (structurally complicated undersaturated ultralow-permeability reservoirs), to bring Bazhenov and Domanic plays into production, to introduce thermal recovery methods fit for ultrahigh-viscosity oil fields in the Samara Region, and to develop high-viscosity oil reserves of the Pokurskaya suite formations in Western Siberia.

In 2020, the Company completed the following key initiatives as part of the Bazhen pilot development programme:

  • drilled ten horizontal wells with ball-n-drop completion systems in the Salymsky and Priobsky licence areas;
  • minimised problems in the process of drilling horizontal wells under abnormally high pressure and temperature conditions. All wells were drilled and completed without any problems;
  • the horizontal sections of the drilled wells averaged 970 m long, with a horizontal section of about 1,400 m long drilled for the first time in the Bazhenov suite;
  • carried out multi-stage hydraulic fracturing and launched eight wells. The proppant weight was on average 72 tonnes per stage;
  • the average initial oil flow rate per stage for launched horizontal wells was 6.8 t per day against the planned rate of 6 t per day.

Multi-stage hydraulic fracturing and the exploration programme in the Bazhenov suite will continue in 2021.

Development of Hard-to-Recover Reserves

Результаты деятельности

Разработка трудноизвлекаемых запасов

Портфель активов трудноизвлекаемых запасов (ТрИЗ) Компании насчитывает более 120 участков с суммарными извлекаемыми запасами нефти более 4 млрд т. Крупнейшие ТрИЗ Компании относятся к участкам недр на территории деятельности ООО «РН-Юганскнефтегаз» и проекта «Восток-Ойл», суммарные запасы которых составляют более 2 млрд т нефти. Значительный объем ТрИЗ также числится на балансе АО «РН-Няганьнефтегаз», «РН-Уватнефтегаз», АО «НК «Конданефть» и АО «Самаранефтегаз». Запасы этих предприятий на текущий момент составляют около 90 % ресурсной базы ТрИЗ Компании.

В Компании ведется планомерная работа по вовлечению в активную разработку ТрИЗ нефти. Объем добычи нефти из залежей, отнесенных к ТрИЗ в соответствии с действующим законодательством, на фоне ограничений по новому Соглашению ОПЕК+ составил 19,7 млн т. Доля добычи ТрИЗ по Компании выросла с 9,7 % в 2019 году до 10,2 % в 2020 году. Также в 2020 году на 20 % относительно предыдущего года вырос действующий фонд добывающих скважин на объектах ТрИЗ и составил по результатам года более 4,8 тыс. скважин.

19,7 млн т добыча углеводородов из ТрИЗ в 2020 году >4 млрд т суммарные ТрИЗ Компании >2 млрд т нефти суммарные запасы «РН-Юганскнефтегаз» и проекта «Восток-Ойл»

Основным направлением развития технологий разработки ТрИЗ является интенсификация добычи нефти из низкопроницаемых пластов, в частности усложнение конструкции и увеличение длины ГС, увеличение количества стадий гидроразрыва пласта в ГС. В последние годы на пластах с ТрИЗ в среднем ежегодно вводится порядка 100 скважин с МГРП и длиной ГС более 1 тыс. м. Увеличение количества стадий ГРП и длины ГС позволяет экономически эффективно вовлекать в разработку ранее нерентабельные запасы. Кроме того, по итогам 2020 года в рамках проектов по разработке низкопроницаемых коллекторов были реализованы следующие мероприятия:

  • пробурено более 50 элементов систем разработки с нагнетательными ГС;
  • пробурено более 100 скважин уплотняющего бурения базовых систем разработки;
  • создан способ разработки низкопроницаемых нефтяных залежей с применением ГС, пробуренных вдоль регионального стресса с поперечными трещинами ГРП, позволяющий повысить продуктивность скважин в сравнении с базовой системой разработки и минимизировать риски прорыва трещин автоГРП;
  • разработана технология одновременной изолированной добычи и закачки на ГС с МГРП;

В ближайшие годы основной объем добычи из залежей ТрИЗ планируется на месторождениях Западной Сибири за счет разработки низкопроницаемых пластов тюменской свиты и ачимовских отложений. В то же время уровень добычи нефти после 2020 года существенно зависит от снятия геологических и технологических неопределенностей, связанных с дальнейшей доразведкой и поиском оптимальных технико-экономических решений для разработки. Для достижения поставленных целей Компания реализует программу исследований и пилотных проектов по разработке низкопроницаемых пластов, баженовской свиты и высоковязкой нефти в рамках целевых инновационных проектов (ЦИП). В рамках ЦИП ведется разработка технологий освоения песчано-алевритистых залежей, сложнопостроенных сверхнизкопроницаемых, недонасыщенных коллекторов, вовлечения в добычу нефти из отложений баженовского и доманикового горизонтов, теплового воздействия для условий месторождений сверхвысоковязкой нефти Самарской области и выработки запасов высоковязкой нефти пластов ПК Западной Сибири.

По итогам 2020 года в рамках программы опытно-промышленных работ по проекту «Бажен» были реализованы следующие ключевые мероприятия:

  • пробурено десять горизонтальных скважин на Салымском и Приобском лицензионных участках с внедрением компоновок заканчивания по типу ball-n-drop;
  • минимизированы осложнения в процессе бурения ГС в условиях аномально высоких давлений и температур. Все скважины закончены бурением штатно;
  • средняя длина горизонтального участка по пробуренным скважинам составила 970 м, при этом впервые пробурена скважина с длиной горизонтального участка на баженовскую свиту около 1,4 тыс. м;
  • проведены операции многостадийного гидроразрыва пласта и запущены по фонду восемь скважин. Средняя масса проппанта на стадию составила 72 т;
  • средний запускной дебит на стадию по запущенным ГС составил 6,8 т/сут при плановом 6 т/сут.

Работы по проведению многостадийного гидроразрыва пласта и программа исследований на баженовской свите будут продолжены в 2021 году.

Разработка трудноизвлекаемых запасов